Bullying: It’s not just for children

Everywhere we turn, we see articles of childhood bullying increases along with an increase in cyber-bulling. Currently, I am going into my senior year of high school and I have been though my fair share of bulling. It has gotten better as I grew older but it gave me a negative outlook on my childhood. Being only a teenager, I only thought bullying happened between kids because that all you hear and that was all I have ever experienced.

Well, its not just with kids. It happens with adults too.

As the internet becomes a necessary accessory to life, cyber bullying has also increased. When people think of cyber-bullying, they usually think of  bullying a kid from school by saying stuff about them on your Facebook profile. Well, that not the only form of cyber-bullying. Cyber-bullying involves bullying over the internet of anyone even if you don’t know them which includes Celebrities and the president of the U.S.(I have seen some very rude comments towards a person who works day and night to provide a nice country for us to live)

Everyday, I usually go on Yahoo and read articles about different topics including celebrity news. Sometime ago, I decided to scroll down to the comment section. I have gotten my fair share of bullying but nothing is compared to the bullying said in those comments. I was reading some more articles today and saw some very disturbing comments that made me really want to make this post. Some of the comments include:

  • “Nice gay guy haircut.”
  • TRASH and useless and a waste of talent
  • Can someone… ANYONE please explain to me why Yahoo loves this little boy so much? sHE is just one fugly person. Yuck!
  • Garbage in garbage out… What a shame!
  • God, what a whr………..she is so darn disgusting.
  • Look, if you’re going to be white trash then you dress like white trash. What’s the problem?
  • Why is this no talent be-atch in the Media so much?
  1. response to above:  It distracts black people. Kind of like a shiny thing
  • I think she got what she deserved. Pampered brat.
  • Shut up you scary, drunk, wildebeest.

I got those comments from just two articles. Just two. Most of these comments were more than likely made by 20, 30, 40, 50 year olds that have absolutely nothing better to do with their time. Parents who tell their kids to be themselves and go after their dreams but yet bash people who cut their hair or made their dream come true as a singer, actor, etc. They say the new generation is bad and horrible but yet forget the people that raised us. If this are the comments that the people that raise us say online, how to you expect the kids you raised to act any different.

It isn’t only cyber bulling that adults do, its in real life too. My mom is a Nigerian nurse and she has experienced a good share of bullying in her profession. How is a 40-something year old women who has gone through life, got a good education, raise four kids still getting bullied for being herself by her co-workers.

We not only need to stop bullying in kids, but also in adults.

Censoring also needs to happen. Children playing on the computer could read these comments and think they are OK, thereby starting a new chain reaction of cyber-bullying.

Well, those are my thoughts.

Comment below.

Bye guys! 🙂

 

Follow me on Twitter

Follow me on Tumblr

 

Related articles

 

 

One thought on “Bullying: It’s not just for children

Leave a comment